10th edition CIFF – 10-14 April 2024


Hivos Tiger Awards for upcoming talents

IFFR congratulates filmmakers Mira Fornay, Daniel Hoesl and Mohammad Shirvani with their Hivos Tiger Awards! The directors win – besides international recognition – a prize of €15.000.

During the ceremony on Friday 1 February in ‘de Doelen’, the winners of the eighteenth Hivos Tiger Awards Competition were presented, as well as the winners of the NETPACFIPRESCIen KNF awards. Two of the winners were supported by the Hubert Bals Fund, and one was aCineMart project.

Hivos Tiger Awards
The three winners of the equal Hivos Tiger Awards 2013 are:

  • My Dog Killer (Môj pes Killer) by Mira Fornay (Slovakia/Czech Republic, 2013). An unflinching study of a troubled teen in small-town Slovakia, the film was praised by its jury for ‘showing a very strong subject from the inside’
  • Soldier Jane (Soldate Jeannette) by Daniel Hoesl (Austria, 2012). A provocative portrait of two women from different ends of the social spectrum, Hoesl’s debut feature was commended for it ‘strong imagery and visual power.’
  • Fat Shaker (Larzanandeye charbi) by Mohammad Shirvani (Iran, 2013). Shirvani’s drama about a stern patriarch was, the jury stated, ‘a fascinating story with superb characters.’

The NETPAC Jury (Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema) awards the best Asian film in IFFR 2013 official selection. The winner of the NETPAC Award 2013 is What They Don’t Talk About When They Talk About Love (Indonesia, 2013).

The winner of the Rotterdam FIPRESCI Award 2013 (see photo on this page for selected jury members) is The Fifth Gospel of Kaspar Hauser by Alberto Gracia (Spain, 2013)

The Big Screen Award
Introduced this year, the Big Screen Award Competition aims to support the distribution of films in Dutch cinemas. The IFFR named Pretty Butterflies (Bellas mariposas) by Salvatore Mereu (Italy, 2012) as winner of its new Big Screen Award Competition. The film follows a day in the life of a young Sardinian girl.

KNF Award
The Dutch Circle of Film Critics (KNF) Jury award – chosen from the ten films in The Big Screen Award Competition – went to The Future (Il futuro) by Alicia Scherson (Chile/Germany/Italy/Spain, 2013).

The UPC Audience Award and the Dioraphte Award will be presented Sunday 2 February.